In the book, Faith Filled Moments: Helping Kids See God in Everyday Life,  it gives this idea about teaching your children what it means to have your sins washed away by the blood of Jesus!

We have been talking about Adam & Eve this week.  So this was a good way to show how our sins are washed away!

First I drew marks all over their little bodies with washable markers.  They thought I was crazy at first, but then they really got into it!  They drew some, too.  I made an extra bubbly bath as the book suggests.  First we tried to wash the marker off with a dry washcloth.  Of course, this wouldn’t work.  Then they got into the tub and the marks washed right off!  They really thought the colored water was fun, too!

The connection (from the book) says the following:

Scripture provides us this amazing pictures of God’s forgiveness: having our sins washed away.  She then talks about David and Bathsheba, but I referred back to sins in general and the Adam and Eve story. Psalm 52:2 says “Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin.”  Like the powerless dry washcloth, we are unable to remove our own sin.  Only God can do it!  And this verse captures the very essence of God’s forgiveness:  Ours sins that were once there are washed off and are now gone.

There’s more to this chapter.  You’ll just have to get a copy of the book!  It’s really fun!

And so we have one clean and happy boy!  Well, I had three.  But here is one of my little sweeties…

