I loved Halloween as a child.  My parents always made it fun for us.  They always made every holiday special.  We had fun dressing up and going trick-or-treating.  We never got into the ugliness that this holiday can bring.  It was just innocent fun.  There’s no reason we can’t continue this fun for our children.

So to glorify God in all that we do, here are some fun things to do for Halloween!

Read this neat book with your children.

Make a Christian Pumpkin.

Here’s a super cute coloring page for your kiddos to color.

Sing this adorable song to the tune of “Oh, Susanna”.  We watched this Netflix movie and I made this pdf file to share.  The movie is really kind of goofy, but the story is great!  Anyway, I recommend mainly this part of the whole show!


Do this while carving your pumpkins!

“Pumpkin Prayer”

{cut off top of pumpkin}
Lord, open my mind so I can learn new things about you.

{remove innards}
Remove the things in my life that don’t please you.
Forgive the wrong things I do and help me to forgive others.

{cut open eyes}
Open my eyes to see the beauty you’ve made in the world around me.

{cut out nose}
I’m sorry for the times I’ve turned my nose at the good food you provide.

{cut out mouth}
Let everything I say please You.

{light the candle}
Lord, help me show your light to others through the things I do. Amen

-From the Pumpkin Parable book

“Reverse Trick or Treat” by giving your neighbors a gift.

Hand out Halloween tracts to the children that come to your door, or anywhere!

I made these little bags for the boys.


They drive me crazy asking if they can have a piece of candy when it’s Halloween time!  Does anyone else have this same problem?  So each day they will choose three pieces for each day.  They can eat them all at once, or space them out during the day.  But that’s it for the day!  We always get rid of most of their candy by trading it for a toy.  They love that!

Have fun celebrating however you do it!

I am linking up to 1+1+1=1 Tot School!

