We’ve been talking about families in our health lessons this month.

God designed the family.  God designed this family that I love so very much.


I am so thankful God gave me such a wonderful family.  I love our extended family, as well as our precious little family unit right here in this house.

From Faith-Filled Moments, came this idea:

(I made some regular bread dough in my bread machine)

As you create your silly dough portraits of each member of your family, both you and your child will naturally take great care to make things just right.  This process of forming dough-people can give your child just a glimpse of what it means to believe God made each of us.  Genesis 2:7 tells us God formed the first man out of the dust of the earth; but God’s careful attention to how each human being is made didn’t stop with Adam.

Use this experience to show your child that God designed and miraculously formed each one of us.  In fact, God place each freckle on your child’s nose, chose the specific color of your child’s hair, and determined the exact size of her feet.  Nothing about your child (even apparent “flaws”) is an accident; God purposefully and lovingly made your child just as she is.  Share Psalm 119:73 with your child, which says, “Your hands made me and formed me.” Or share Psalm 139:13-15, which says, “Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb…You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; you know exactly how I was made, bit by bit” (MSG).

Ultimately the goal here is to help your child get a sense of God’s great love for her.  God knows and cares about every detail of your child and her life.  She is special and precious to God!  Take an opportunity as you bake together to directly share affirming words with your child, speaking truth about God’s deep and enduring love for her.

So here is what our family looked like as dough…

Andrew said we needed to put our family portrait in the “lovin’ oven”.  I thought that was so sweet!

And our family after we were baked…

Haha.  Not so flattering!  But we had some good laughs and learned about how special we are, and how special our family is…even our cat Oliver.

So take the opportunity to have a special time of loving and laughing doing this project together.  I think it would be something fun to give, too!

