Inspiring stories of courage from Christians serving around the world with Beth Moore and friends who put their lives on the line for God.

I was very interested in reading this 366 day devotional.  Anything written by Beth Moore sparks my interest!

This book is collection of stories from missionaries around the world, one for each day of the year.  Beth Moore begins each month with an inspiring and encouraging message.  And each of the stories is so interesting.  It really makes you appreciate what missionaries do for the cause of Christ.

I would like to share December 9th’s devotion with you to give you an example, and because it’s the season of Christmas.

The verse for the day: Luke 2:10

When my husband and I responded to God’s call to come to Southeast Asia, packing was a challenge.  There simply wasn’t room for the holiday decorations I had accumulated during the years.  All that remained for our new home was a Nativity set that I had bought in a neighboring country.  With great care, I place the ceramic pieces on my table.  An angel was in the back; Mary, Joseph and the baby were in front; wise men were on the right; and the shepherds and cattle were placed on the left.  The standard American setup.

The next day while I was at language school, my house helper looked at the Nativity.  When I came back later that day, my carefully arranged pieces were now in a circle, all mixed up, with the baby in the middle.  Thinking she had dusted and didn’t know how to arrange them correctly, I moved them back in the proper order.  The following day, the Nativity scene was once again in a circle.  This went on for more days until I finally asked her why she kept moving the piece-after all, everyone knows shepherds and wise men have definite stations in life, and her arrangement just wouldn’t happen.  She pointed to the scene and said, “Jesus should be the center of everything..”  Pointing to her heart, she continued, “Just like in here.”  Pointing to the wise me, then to a shepherd and then to herself, she continued to teach me saying, “He loves us all the same.”

The prayer: Dear Lord, today I make Jesus the center of my life in everything that I do.  I will treat others as I want to be treated.  Help me to live before others with the evidence that you control my life.

This is a great devotional book, especially for those that have a heart for mission work!  I would highly recommend adding it to your library!  I really like it!!

