Building Thinking Skills® provides highly effective verbal and nonverbal reasoning activities to improve vocabulary, reading, writing, math, logic, and figural-spatial skills, as well as visual and auditory processing. This exceptional skill set provides a solid foundation for academic excellence and success on any assessment test.

The activities are sequenced developmentally. Each skill (for example, classifying) is presented first in the semi-concrete figural-spatial form and then in the abstract verbal form. Children learn to analyze relationships between objects, between words, and between objects and words as they:

  • Observe, recognize, and describe characteristics.
  • Distinguish similarities and differences.
  • Identify and complete sequences, classifications, and analogies.
  • I have been very interested in using a critical thinking skills book for Andrew (2nd grade) for a while, so I was thrilled to get the chance to review this book for Timberdoodle.  I was aware of The Critical Thinking Co. from homeschool conventions, so I was ready to dive in!

    But I honestly think Andrew was ready to run.  He thought it was just another workbook and at first he wanted nothing to do with it.  The more I used it with him, the more he loved it. This kind of thinking really sparked his interest, and that always makes a homeschooling mommy excited!

    I love the range of various skills presented in this book.  Some of Andrew’s favorites were Classifications, Similarities and Differences (Figural and Verbal), Map Reading and Figural Analogies.  All fun stuff in this book!  It didn’t seem like “work” after all!

    I will say that some of the skills could easily be done orally.  One evening I got the book out.  Andrew did circles around our island answering questions.  I did so many that I was worn out.  He wasn’t and wanted more.  Now that’s a great way for a boy to learn!  Using his brain while moving his body!

    By the end of the book, he and his brother (kindergarten) were fighting over whose turn it was to answer the questions!

    So I absolutely recommend this book!  I loved it and so did my son.  That’s a super combination!

    Timberdoodle has all kinds of great resources for the homeschooling family.  Their Complete Curriculum Kits look great.  Wouldn’t it be easy to have it all shipped to you in one package?  Sign up for your free catalog today and start shopping!
    As a member of Timberdoodle’s Blogger Review Team I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a frank and unbiased review.

