I really enjoyed this six week Bible study on love. It is a great way to “dive deeper into the Biblical concept of love as the result of the Holy Spirit dwelling in us”.

The book is packed full of daily studies broken down like this:

Day 1- Aspect of the fruit to be explored throughout the week
Day 2- The week’s theme as it relates to God’s purpose in our lives
Day 3 – The week’s theme as it relates to our relationship with Christ
Day 4 – How the fruit is relevant in service to others
Day 5 -Personal Worship
Day6 – Bonus study, usually a Biblical character or key parable
Day 7- Group Discussion

There were several marks in this book by the time I finished reading!  One part I marked in particular was this:

Love is to be the trumpet of the morning, the sentinel of midnight, the crust of the bread at noon.  Love is the pathway through the wilderness of fear.  Any Christian’s peace has one foundation: our sins are forgiven once and for all.

I would definitely say I was blessed by reading this book.  While it is meant for a small group study, it was a nice devotional to read daily.  I will say, though, that I wanted more than one day gave.  Often I would read two or more days at a time.  I think it would be a neat small group study.  There are plenty of discussion opportunities.  And the others in Calvin Miller’s series on fruits of the Spirit look great!  The author states that these studies will focus your spiritual life to become more like Christ.  That’s my ultimate goal, and should be for all Christians.  Therefore, I would recommend this book!

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

