We had an excellent sermon yesterday.  It was named “A Better Way to Pray” based out of Philippians 1:8-11 which says:

8 God can testify how I long for all of you with the affection of Christ Jesus. 9 And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, 10 so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, 11 filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ—to the glory and praise of God.

Like my pastor said, prayer is hard work!  But we are to yearn (pray) for others with the affection of Christ Jesus.

Pray for others…

-To have a love that is overflowing.  To be able to express love with knowledge and discernment.

-To find what is excellent – not just what is good, but God’s very best!

-To be sincere and pure in their faith.

-To live a blameless life, that their life will point someone to Jesus.

-To bear fruits of righteousness where God receives the glory.

So we were encouraged to pray for someone using this model.  Try it for yourself, and see what God can do in the lives of someone you love.

I will pray everyday this week for _______ to abound in love with knowledge and discernment, make excellent choices, have sincere faith, live blamelessly and bear fruit.

I filled in my blank with some dear girlfriends of mine, both near and far.  I’m so thankful for the love that I have for them, and the love I receive from them.  I am thankful for the encouragement I receive to keep on.  I am thankful that sometimes those friends cheer me on, and challenge me.  You know, to take the plunge…

I’m thankful for the friends that I can count on.  Friends that will lead me to the cross.

Girlfriends, you know who you are.  I’m praying for you this week.

