Are you raising little men like I am?

How about raising real men?

I want to.

That’s why I loved reading this book I received from Timberdoodle.

A practical guide to equipping the hearts and minds of boys without breaking or losing your own.

Authors Hal and Melanie Young should know a few things about boys.  They have six of their own.

I LOVE having boys.  I’m not sorry about it at all.  But it’s amazing how I have had people “apologize” to me for having three boys!  And this is coming from people I don’t even know!  The nerve!  God has blessed us with three amazing children.  Three amazing BOYS.  Now having a house full of boys can be tough at times.  And let’s face it, being a mom and a female, sometimes I can’t quite get boys.  I’ll be the first to admit that!  Why they want to be dangerous, why they like gross stuff, or why they don’t care about brushing their hair.  But I am thankful and humbled that God has given us boys to raise in His way.  Boys that will lead in some way, someday.

Raising Real Men gives you practical and godly advice for doing just that.

It’s a biblical perspective on understanding how boys think.  The authors say, “As we’ve raised our sons, we’ve found that many of the troubles and concerns we had were clarified when we looked to what God intended them to be.  The situation looked different when we truly valued manly virtues and masculinity and when we understood that we had to rebuke sin but should not change our boys into something they were not.”

We are in our 4th week of school.  I have had some trouble with Andrew doing his school work, so I turned right to the chapter entitled “Your Own School For Boys”.  It gave me a lot of insight on how boys are and some things I can do to help them get their school work done, and to love learning.

This momma needs all the help she can get!  Time has already flown by.  We have such little time to train them, it seems.  I want to do the best I can.

If you have boys, you HAVE to get this book!  I’m telling you, it’s good!  Even my husband has picked it up and read it!  I can’t say enough about it.  It’s the 2011 Book of the Year within the Christian Small Publishers Association.

If you don’t have boys, this would make a great gift for someone!

Timberdoodle has some great resources to help keep those boys busy!  Check out all the boy-friendly fun things they have!!  My boys love their X-Scopes!

As a member of Timberdoodle’s Blogger Review Team I received a free copy of Raising Real Men in exchange for a frank and unbiased review.

