This year my boys dressed as Transformers.

Iron Hide, Bumblebee and Optimus Prime.  I think I’ve got that right.

This picture is from the party we had at co-op last week.

I have to throw in a picture of some of the other children, because it’s just so cute.

We really enjoyed our weekend.  The fall and Halloween is always fun around here.  I have fond memories as a child, and I hope we are making some for our boys.

Saturday a friend and I went to a community festival.  The local high school was packed full of fun for the kids.  Our dentist friends were there.  One was dressed up as a great big tooth!  We love getting our free toothbrushes and toothpaste!

Saturday evening we met some friends at the nearby park for another party and trick or treating around the hiking trails.  It was so beautiful there!

Sunday evening we had a bonfire with our dear church family.  It was such an enjoyable time.  I loved every minute of it.  It was bittersweet, too, as we gathered around the fire to say goodbye to our old church property and meet the new church family moving in.  Tears ran down my cheeks as we sang a few hymns together.  I felt like I was given a very small glimpse of what heaven might be like.

Monday evening we went trick or treating around the neighborhood.  But we were missing two special people.  Chad was on another business trip and Andrew was sick on the couch.  Andrew asked me if I could take his bag along with me.  Only in this great group of people would that work!  Love our neighborhood family!

Transformers….More Than Meets the Eye!

I hope I am more than one meets the eye, you know?  In this world, often it doesn’t seem like that.  We buy into the lie that what you see is what’s important.  I want people to see my heart.  Do they see the heart of Jesus?  Are we training our children to be concerned about the souls of others?  For daily we have to be “transformed by the renewing of our minds” (Romans 12:2).  God, renew my mind through the reading of Your Word.  Help me be like You.

This week of celebration wasn’t about just collecting loads of sugary sweets, although that is fun.

It was about spending precious time with friends and neighbors.  My hope is that we were able to shine that Light into this dark world, and have some fun doing it.

It’s my first link up to Growing Godly Men!  I have always loved this gal.  Great encouragement for raising young boys!  Check it out!

 

