I love having an open door, especially during the season of Christmas.

The house is so cozy with all the Christmas lights inside.  There’s almost always Christmas music playing and some Christmasy smell in the air.  We love to be home, and we love to welcome people here.  I want others to feel received, relaxed and loved on.

We usually do have a lot people in and out of here.  Family, friends, and neighbors are always stopping in.  But this past week was a dream for me!  I had the cookie party with my homeschooling moms on Tuesday.  Friday evening my good friend and her husband came in from Virginia.  They spent the night here, and on Saturday and we had a large group of people here for a party.  Sunday evening two gals from church were here baking for a few great causes.  I loved it.

I love the honor of hosting.  It’s part of what I’m here for, I’m convinced. And it’s biblical, so I have a good reason to party.

Share with the Lord’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.  Romans 12:13

Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts.  Acts 2:46

Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling.  I Peter 4:9

I’m so glad Chad feels the same way.  He keeps telling me to make a list of people we want to invite and get them on the calendar!  I also love knowing that my boys are seeing this ministry we hope to give.  I always tell people that I would have something here every weekend if I could.  But if it’s just one friend or family member, it’s just as special.

So if you’re around these parts, stop in.  I’ll have a hot cup of cocoa and some cookies for you in no time.  We can sit and talk.

