Written on our chalkboard for the year 2012 is this:

Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.  Psalm 90:12

I love that verse, and I pray that is what we hold onto each day during this new year we face.  Looking ahead as much as our minds can hold, there’s a lot happening this year.  Some things we know about and can plan for, but mostly things we cannot.  I just pray that I might be closer to the Lord than ever before.

The book of James tells us that if we ask for wisdom, God will give it to us generously.  I need wisdom every single day, so many times a day.

I had some heart to hearts with a couple of people this week.  It was a rough week trying to get back into the swing of things after the holiday.  Rough.  My kids didn’t want to do their school work, and I really didn’t want to teach it.  I had little projects going here and there, and my house just couldn’t get to where I wanted it.  Or it would almost get there, and go right back to where it was when I blinked once.  It’s winter (although a very warm one) and the boys were going stir crazy.  I couldn’t hear myself think, let alone hear myself talking to God to ask for that wisdom (and patience and understanding and peace and rest) that I needed.  I needed a break, and I knew it.  I asked grandparents for some help, and they were there.  It was good for all of us.

We had a great weekend with lots of family on Saturday and friends today.  I love the support we get from all sides.  I look forward to a better week.

The picture here is my dad’s hand holding my three boys’ hands.  He thought it was kind of silly for me to take such a picture (he loves it when the camera comes out, ha!).  But I told him to trust that it would be precious.  It is to me.  Don’t you think?  And it speaks wisdom.

