During the Christmas season my sweet Samuel sang his version of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen.  Instead of the phrase “comfort and joy”, he would repeat over and over “covered in joy, covered in joy”!  I love it.  Only he could come up with something so funny, and something so like him.  He’s so full of life.  A happy go lucky guy with not much of a care in the world.

That’s him.  He is covered in JOY.

If you asked my boys where joy comes from, they would say Jesus.  I hope they always remember that.

I looked up some verses that reference joy.  They are ones you have heard before, no doubt.  They have that warm and familiar feel to them.  I recall learning them as a child myself.

Psalm 16:11 – You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.   I want the fullness of joy, don’t you?

Psalm 30:5 -…Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.  I am sure we can all testify to this one!  And thank You Jesus, for that joy we find every morning.  Mercies new every morning that I need so badly.

John 15:11 – These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full.  Oh Lord, please let Your joy remain in me.

James 1:2-3 – My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience.   Joy when we have problems?  How can that be?  It’s a chance to surrender and rely on Christ alone.  So many times in our every day we put our trust in other things and in other people.

I want to be “covered in joy, covered in joy”.  I want others to see that joy and wonder where it comes from.

How about you?  What are you covered in?

