I made these little puffy heart guys out of fabric this past weekend.  I saw an idea to use these to leave various places to remind someone that you loved them. I thought it would a fun way to remind Chad.  They make a good decoration, too.

I cut them out of an old tablecloth that I love, but can’t use because of some stains.  I cut the hearts and whipped them together under the sewing machine.  Stuffed them with a little fluff and finished them up.

After I got done, I chuckled at them.  I thought to myself that these weren’t even worth putting out.  They are so rough on the edges, the seams aren’t straight nor do they line up.  They are so imperfect.  Stained.

And then I thought about how these were such a good reflection of my own heart. I’m so imperfect, stained with sin and rough around the edges.  I, too, come unraveled.  I’m not always loyal and I don’t always have a heart full of love.  But as much as I want people to think I do, I can’t act like it.  I want to give love as much as I can, but it doesn’t always come so easy.

My heart and my flesh, they fail. Miserably.

But it doesn’t stop there.  There’s mercy and grace.

But God is the strength of my life and my portion forever.  Psalm 73:26

I’m forever thankful that God takes this heart of mine and makes it new.  He allows me to fill it with His love.  He loves me just the way I am, but He wants more for me.  There’s so much out there that’s pulling at my heart, and at yours.  Be careful.  If your desire is to have a heart like Christ, stay focused on Him.

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.  Proverbs 4:23

This verse is written on a smaller chalkboard that hangs as you walk out into the garage.  I thought it would be “cute” to have a heart verse around Valentine’s Day.  But that “cute” has taught me something this time. Guarding my heart is for a reason, because what’s in my heart spills out into my life.  Yours, too.

So it’s kind of like wearing your heart on your sleeve.  I’ve just got mine on display at the table.

