I found this old picture a few days back.  This is my siblings and I.  I’m the baby.  I often wonder how my mom did it with five.  I can hardly do it with three sometimes!  But I’m glad she did.  I think she has a lot to show for it.  Five children who are married to good Christian people.  Seventeen grandchildren.  Almost fifty years of marriage.  I can truly rise up and call her blessed.

But mom, can I ask…what kind of stresses did you have?  Did you worry about getting a blog post up?  Did you have to check your email or text every few minutes?  Did that green furniture bother you?  Did you worry about impressing others?

Of course you had things that worried you and kept your mind occupied.  But I know you knew your calling was to be our mom first.  And for that, I am thankful.

Sometimes I wish I could close the door and not worry about anyone else but us here in this house.  Wouldn’t that be nice?  I also know that’s not my calling either, but sometimes I wish it were for just a day.

How much unnecessary pressure we put upon ourselves.  I’m working on this.  I have just started a book called Becoming a Woman of Simplicity.  I am hoping to learn something from it.  What about you?  Are you ready to simplify?

 

