We have been talking with Samuel over the last few months about giving his heart to Jesus.  He has such a tender heart.  He gets that from his brothers who have been encouraging him to make this decision.  Samuel also has a buddy that has been very influential, too.  He wasn’t quite ready a few times, but this time he came to me.

Whoever calls upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.  Romans 10:13

Last evening he came into the kitchen.  He says, “Mommy, when you ask Jesus to come into your heart, when you die you go to heaven just like that!” as he snapped his fingers together.  I smiled great big and asked him if he was ready to ask Jesus into his heart.  He says, “I think I did that when I was under the table one time.  And when everyone was here.”  He mentioned a few friends, so I gathered it was this last week when all of our co-op was here.  So we talked a little bit about it, and I asked him if he had asked Jesus to forgive him of his sins.  He said, “No, how do you do that?”

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us of our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.  I John 1:9

So I told him he could pray and ask Jesus!  He said he wanted me to do it, and I told him I would be happy to help him pray.  So he prayed there right on top of the island, Samuel style.

Call to Me, and I will answer you and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.  Jeremiah 33:3

I looked up at him and said, “Samuel!  I’m so happy!  Jesus is so happy!”  There is singing in heaven right now!  He looked at me with a huge smile on his face and says, “OH!!!!”

I told him he would have to tell Daddy when Daddy got home.  He said, “But mommy, I don’t hear daddy pray that when he prays.  He doesn’t ask Jesus into his heart.”  I reassured him that both Daddy and I have asked Jesus into our hearts, as well as his brothers.  I also told him that you only have to do it once, that Jesus will always be in your heart forever!  He was so excited.

These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, that you may know that you have eternal life, and that you may continue to believe in the name of the Son of God.  I John 5:13

(Daddy’s face lit up when he heard the news from Samuel’s mouth later that evening)

He ran in to tell Ethan and his little buddy what he had done.  They all rejoiced that they are all going to heaven!  His friend says, “Samuel, now that you are saved when bad things happen, you can just pray to Jesus.  He controls the whole earth, you know!”  I thought that was so precious.  A mini preacher in the making.  But more importantly, a good friend.

Let no one despise your youth, but be an example to the believers in word, in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, in purity.  I Timothy 4:12

We told others.  I’m so thankful for the family and friends that celebrate with us.  I did have a little “negative” feedback from someone saying that he is still so young and doesn’t fully understand it all.  Well guess what, neither do I and I never will understand it all.  He believes.  We don’t second guess children’s beliefs or understandings of Santa Claus or the Easter Bunny.  And Jesus is real!  He is alive and He’s active in me and my little five year old child.

At that time the disciples came to Jesus, saying, “Who then is greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”  Then Jesus called a little child to Him, set him in the midst of them, and said, “Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore whoever humbles himself as this little child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

Matthew 18:1-4

It’s as easy as the ABC’s this little guy is learning!  A=accept; B=believe; C=confess

There’s my boy, looking all grown up and sweet.  Thank You, Lord, for the blessing and privilege of being a mom to these boys.

My momma told me last night that she just knew something good was going to happen that day.  She was right.

